Too many stereotypes

I refuse to play into the stereotypes like, “once you have kids your relationship with your spouse takes a back seat” or “once you have kids you have to give up vacations, trips or fun in general” or my favorite, “once you have kids your ambitions and dreams get put on hold”. I, in no way believe this is true and  think these are horrible stereotypes to try to scare people or give them reason to stop creating on their relationships and lives once they have a kid.

My husband and I are going away for a couple of days and  it will be just the two of us. This will be the first time we leave our daughter for longer than 2 hours. I think you have to do things like this to keep everything running smoothly. I am of course anticipating a shock to my system once when I wake up after 8 hours of solid sleep two days in a row! And I know I will miss my daughter but I have to remind myself it will all work out just fine. I honestly think the 3 of us will be better for it. I will have gotten the most sleep I have had in 6 months and my daughter will get to see her aunties and uncles.Win all around!

I was 6 months pregnant when my husband was offered an all expenses paid trip to China through his university. How could you pass up this opportunity? You can’t! So when our daughter was 6 weeks old he went to China for 2 weeks and had an experience of a lifetime.

I have met people who think that things just stop once you have a baby  and in my experience this doesn’t have to be the case at all. It is true that everything may take a little bit more planning but it doesn’t have to discourage you from actually doing things. I find that activities like going to concerts with friends are important to create a balance. My husband and I both agreed that once we had kids we couldn’t use them as an excuse not to do things in our lives; if you operate like this you may start to resent the fact that you are a parent and that wasn’t something I wanted. So I am trying to heed my own advice,  I will let you know how the trip goes!

Leave a comment